Which caption tools do you pay for once?

Ten tools that make animated or burned-in captions and charge one price instead of a monthly fee, read on their own pages on 2 October 2026. Burncaps is one of them, and this is our page, so we kept to what each vendor states and say plainly where another tool is the better pick.

Try Burncaps free
  • Checked 2 October 2026
  • Vendors' own pages only
  • No affiliate links

Live preview, rendered on this page by the same engine that burns your video.

The table, cheapest first, as each vendor states it

ToolPriceWhere it runsTry it before payingIs your video uploaded?
Caption Cut$15 once (₹1299 in India); the page says it covers 2 devicesWindows 10/11 and macOS 12 or later; installed3-day full trial, no account, no watermark; 14-day refundNo: "100% Offline", models run on your computer
SablatePro $29 onceWindows and macOS; installedFree tier: videos up to 10 minutes, 3 transcription jobs a month, small credit and corner mark on exportsNo: transcription, translation and rendering run locally
SubVix$29 once ("early access")Windows only; installedNo trial stated; 14-day refundNo: files never leave your machine
FrameCraft$29 once (the page also shows a regular price of $499)Windows and Mac; installedNot stated on its landing pageNo: runs locally
UIDCaption$39 once, free updatesWindows 10/11 only; installedNo trial stated; 30-day money-back; no watermarkNo: runs offline
BurncapsFree to use; Pro $49 once removes the markIn the browser, nothing to install; the finished video is written in Chrome, Edge, Brave or Arc on a computerNo mark on your first two videos, then a small burncaps.app credit on each; subtitle files free without limitNo: the video stays in your browser. The sound leaves only if you choose our speech service
WithSubtitles Desktop$49 once, lifetime licenceWindows, macOS and Linux (experimental); installedNo trial stated; points to its free browser versionNo: works fully offline after its components download
Subtitle Studio$69 once, lifetime licencemacOS (Apple Silicon) and Windows 10/11; installedFree download with full transcription and editing; exporting needs the licenceNo: transcription runs on your computer
ReClipStudioCreator $99 once (shown reduced from $149); Pro $139 onceWindows, macOS and Linux; installedFree to try; exports carry a watermark until you activateNo: clipping, reframing and captioning run locally
Captioneer$150 once; also $15 a monthAn extension for Adobe Premiere and After Effects; needs one of them14-day trial, no payment neededNot stated on its page

Read on each vendor's own page on 2 October 2026, signed out. Prices change, and some of these show a launch or reduced price: the vendor's page is the authority. Languages, caption styles and file limits differ between tools; this table covers what decides whether you pay once. Spotted something out of date? Email hello@burncaps.app and we will correct it.

The short answer, by situation

You caption on one Windows machine, often

An installed app. Caption Cut at $15 is the cheapest in this table and states no length limit; UIDCaption at $39 is Windows-native and says exports carry no watermark. Both state that everything runs offline.

You edit in Premiere Pro or After Effects

Captioneer, at $150 once or $15 a month, puts the captions on your timeline. It is the only one here built as an extension for those editors.

You want to cut a long recording into clips

ReClipStudio is built for finding clips in long footage and runs locally. Burncaps takes one video of up to ten minutes and captions all of it, or cuts its best 30 or 60 seconds.

You want to start now, with nothing to install

Burncaps: open the page and drop the video. 20 animated word-by-word styles, twelve Indian languages heard on your device, captions translated into 37 languages. Free to use: no mark on your first two videos, then a small credit, or $49 once to remove it.

Where a desktop app beats Burncaps

It works offline once installed. Several state no length limit, while Burncaps takes up to ten minutes a video and the browser tab has to stay open while it writes the file. If you caption hours of footage, or work on a plane, buy one of them. Where Burncaps is the better pick: you want the result in the next five minutes, you are on a machine where you cannot install software, or the speech is in one of twelve Indian languages, which it hears on your own computer.

Questions people ask about pay-once caption tools

Which caption software can you buy once instead of subscribing?

As read on the vendors' own pages on 2 October 2026: Caption Cut $15, Sablate Pro $29, SubVix $29, FrameCraft $29, UIDCaption $39, WithSubtitles Desktop $49, Burncaps Pro $49, Subtitle Studio $69, ReClipStudio $99 for its Creator tier and Captioneer $150. Captioneer also sells a $15 monthly plan, and Burncaps is free to use before you pay.

What is the cheapest caption tool you pay for once?

Caption Cut at $15, which its page says covers two devices, with a three-day full trial and no watermark. Sablate, SubVix and FrameCraft are $29 each. Burncaps costs nothing to start: no mark on your first two videos, then a small burncaps.app credit on each export, which Pro removes for $49 once.

Do pay-once caption apps work offline and keep your video on your computer?

The ones in this comparison say so on their own pages: Caption Cut, Sablate, SubVix, FrameCraft, UIDCaption, WithSubtitles Desktop, Subtitle Studio and ReClipStudio all state that transcription and rendering run on your computer. Captioneer's page does not say where its transcription runs. Burncaps keeps the video in your browser and sends the sound away only if you choose its speech service.

Is there a pay-once caption tool that needs nothing installed?

Burncaps runs in the browser, so there is nothing to install, and it works on Windows, Mac and Linux. The finished video is written by Chrome, Edge, Brave or Arc on a computer; Safari and Firefox can still make subtitle files. It is free to use, and $49 once removes the small mark after your first two videos.

What can a desktop caption app do that Burncaps cannot?

Work offline once installed, and take longer files. Burncaps takes a video of up to ten minutes, and runs in a browser tab that needs to stay open. Several desktop apps here state no length limit. If you caption hours of footage, one of them is the better pick.

Burncaps facts, checked 2 October 2026

What it is: a browser tool that burns animated word-by-word captions into a talking video, or cuts it to its best 30 or 60 seconds.

Price: free with every feature, for as many videos as you like. The first two carry no mark; after that each carries a small burncaps.app credit, which Pro removes for $49 once. Pro is not a subscription.

Privacy: the video never leaves your browser. The sound leaves only if you choose our speech service.

Files: MP4 or MOV up to ten minutes in; an MP4 with the captions burned in out. SRT, VTT, ASS and text files are free without limit.

Languages and styles: captions in the language spoken, twelve Indian languages heard on your device, translation into 37 languages, 20 caption styles.

Made by: Jordan Labs Ltd, UK company no. 17358646.